ICCTA BOARD HIGHLIGHTS

June 22, 2005

The ICCTA Board of Representatives took the following actions at its June 18, 2005, meeting at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place Hotel in Chicago, Illinois:

- Reviewed the spring 2005 state legislative session. The Illinois community college system's FY06 budget
 was approved at a slightly higher level than that recommended by Gov. Blagojevich;
- Learned that Senate Bill 2112 (which would add a currently serving trustee to the Illinois Community College Board) has passed both houses of the Illinois General Assembly and awaits the Governor's signature. SB 2112 was one of ICCTA's priority issues during the association's May 4 Lobby Day in Springfield;
- Were updated on another ICCTA priority issue: Senate Bill 463, which would transfer GED authority from the Illinois State Board of Education to ICCB. SB 463 also awaits the Governor's signature;
- Discussed the lack of state funding for college capital projects and how best to represent those needs to lawmakers and potential gubernatorial candidates;
- Adopted a resolution honoring the Illinois community college system's 40th anniversary (see enclosed).
 Other colleges were encouraged to adopt similar resolutions;
- Were reminded that the Association of Community College Trustees' annual convention will take place September 7-10 in Seattle. Several Illinois trustees are seeking office within ACCT:
 - Incumbent James Polk (Illinois Central) -- Diversity Committee
 - Incumbent Dave Maguire (Spoon River) -- Central Region seat on the ACCT board
 - Tom Bennett (Parkland) At-large seat on the ACCT board
- Learned that the next ACCT National Legislative Summit has been scheduled for February 6-8, 2006, in Washington, D.C.;
- Elected the following ICCTA officers for 2005 2006 by unanimous ballot:
 - * Dr. Clare Ollayos (Elgin) vice president
 - * Jerry Wright (Illinois Central) treasurer
 - * Kathy Wessel (DuPage) secretary

Vice president Tom Bennett will assume the ICCTA presidency on July 1, succeeding the Rev. Albert D. Tyson III (City Colleges);

- Heard that ICCB is organizing a statewide conference on homeland security issues, planning activities to observe the system's 40th anniversary, and collecting data and information for the next Baccalaureate Access Task Force meeting on June 27;
- Were informed that Gov. Blagojevich is expected to fill the remaining vacancy on the ICCB board within the next few weeks;











- Recognized ICCTA's officers, regional chairs, committee chairs, and liaisons for 2004-2005;
- Honored the 16 recipients of ICCTA's 2005 Trustee Education Awards:

First-time Recipients

Dr. Joan DiLeonardi (Oakton), Dr. Robert Ehrich (Illinois Central College), Richard Gillette (Harper), David Harby, (Danville), George Lowe (McHenry), Dr. John O'Keefe (Logan)

Two-time Recipients

Cindy Brand (Heartland), John Duffy (Elgin), Rev. Wayne Dunning (Richland), Ken Joseph (Southwestern), Ed Ledvina (Morton), Jerry Wright (Illinois Central)

Three-time Recipients

Jim Beasley (Kaskaskia), Marvin Scott (Rend Lake)

Four-time Recipient

Linden Warfel (Parkland)

Five-time Recipient

Dr. Wayne Green (Sandburg) – Dr. Green is the first Illinois trustee to earn 5 Trustee Education Awards

- Were challenged by incoming president Tom Bennett to take a more active role in the Trustees Association;
 and
- Recognized the following sponsors of ICCTA's annual convention:
 - Illinois Community College Risk Management Consortium ICCTA President's Reception sponsor
 - Linebarger Goggan Blair & Sampson, LLP Saturday breakfast sponsor
 - Nestlé Convention sponsor

The next ICCTA Board of Representatives meeting will take place on Saturday, October 1, 2005, at the Hilton Hotel in Springfield, Illinois.

RESOLUTION HONORING THE 40th ANNIVERSARY OF THE ILLINOIS COMMUNITY COLLEGE SYSTEM

WHEREAS, Illinois' Community College Act was signed into law on July 15, 1965, creating the Illinois Community College System; and

WHEREAS, Illinois' Community College System comprises 39 Districts containing 48 campuses that provide educational programs and services to more than one million people a year;

WHEREAS, the Illinois Community College System is the third largest system of community colleges in the nation;

WHEREAS, each of the 48 campuses are unique in that their mission is to provide comprehensive educational programs and services based on student and community needs; they all share a common mission, to provide high quality, affordable, accessible higher education to all of Illinois' citizens; and

WHEREAS, every citizen in Illinois is served by a community college district; and

WHEREAS, since the adoption of the act in 1965, more than 18 million students have passed through community college doors on their way to a more profitable, more enlightened and more fulfilling quality of life; and

WHEREAS, the average earning of someone with an Associate Degree is 34 percent higher than one with just a High School Diploma; and

WHEREAS, the Illinois Community System is a comprehensive educational experience, providing academic instruction, adult education and workforce development, a globalization force, and continuing lifelong learning opportunities; and

WHEREAS, the community colleges of Illinois are known for their unique capability in being responsive to the ever-changing environment in meeting educational and training needs.

BE IT RESOLVED by the Illinois Community College Trustees Association that the community college system celebrates its 40th anniversary; and

THEREFORE BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED the Illinois Community College Trustees Association congratulate and commend the community colleges of Illinois for becoming the largest segment of higher education in Illinois, and for accomplishing the mission and values placed forth in the Illinois Community College Act of 1965 for the past 40 years.

Unanimously adopted by the ICCTA Board of Representatives on June 18, 2005, in Chicago, Illinois.