## Illinois Community College Trustees Association Action Alert

May 20, 2008

## SENATE APPROVES LOCAL CONTROL LEGISLATION

This afternoon the Illinois Senate unanimously approved legislation that clarifies that community colleges are units of local government, not state agencies. **House Bill 4189**, which passed the House several weeks ago with a vote of 91 - 14 - 0, passed the Senate with a vote of 58 - 0 - 0. The bill will soon be sent to the Governor for his action.

HB 4189 is ICCTA's highest priority legislation this year; it reinforces the local control concept and clarifies that community college districts are units of local government under the State Officials and Employees Ethics Act. The bill clearly excludes community college districts from the definition of state agencies and clearly includes community college districts in the definition of units of local government under the Ethics Act.

Enacting House Bill 4189 into law would render moot a court case currently pending before the Second Appellate Court. In 2005, a number of community colleges initiated a legal action based on the ambiguity of the definition of a state agency described herein. That case was decided in favor of the community colleges, and an appeal is pending.

House sponsors of HB 4189 are:

Robert W. Pritchard - William B. Black - Arthur L. Turner - Mike Boland - Kenneth Dunkin, Patricia R. Bellock, Donald L. Moffitt, Elaine Nekritz, Kathleen A. Ryg, Suzanne Bassi and JoAnn D. Osmond.

Senate sponsors of HB 4189 are:

Edward D. Maloney, Dale E. Risinger - Kimberly A. Lightford - Christine Radogno, Todd Sieben, David Luechtefeld, James F. Clayborne Jr., Kirk W. Dillard, Dale A. Righter, J. Bradley Burzynski, Debbie DeFrancesco Halvorson, Michael W. Frerichs, M. Maggie Crotty, Randall M. Hultgren, A. J. Wilhelmi, Frank C. Watson, David Koehler, Bill Brady, John J. Millner and Pamela J. Althoff.

For additional legislative updates, contact ICCTA at <a href="iccta@communitycolleges.org">iccta@communitycolleges.org</a> or 1-800-454-2282.

Michael S. Monaghan
Executive Director
Illinois Community College Trustees Association
401 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 200
Springfield, IL 62701-1711
1-800-454-2282
217-528-8662 (fax)
msmonaghan@communitycolleges.org